Roomba Combo Essential vs Roomba Combo 10 Max
Quick take: The Roomba Combo Essential costs $530 less.
Which one to buy
Floor size settles most of this. The Roomba Combo Essential cleans up to 500 sq ft per cycle with gyroscope navigation, a basic charging dock and a microfiber pad you swap and wash yourself. It has no self-empty, no carpet detection and no mop lifting, so you set no-mop zones around rugs by hand. For a small apartment at $170, that's a workable 2-in-1.
The Roomba Combo 10 Max costs $530 more and is a different class of machine: LiDAR mapping across floors, a dock that empties the bin, refills water and washes and dries the pad, and a mop that lifts itself on carpet. Its owners say the vacuuming is the real strength, with a perfect pet-hair pickup result in lab testing and deep-cleaning scores among the best recorded. The mopping half disappoints them. The dock drags the pad over a spinning roller instead of a wash basin, which testers called messy, it leaves the pad wetter than rivals, and the mopping score lands slightly below average. Mapping took roughly four times longer than competitors, and the wash cycle is loud.
For a larger home, pets or carpet, the 10 Max was worth the jump for its vacuuming and hands-off dock, but not for its mop, and it is now discontinued; iRobot's successor is the Roomba Max 875 Combo + AutoWash Dock at $1,200. In a small, mostly hard-floor apartment, the Essential does the basic job for far less.
Roomba Combo Essential
For a small apartment under 500 sq ft with few rugs, it covers basic vacuuming and mopping for $170 if you don't mind swapping pads and emptying the bin.
Roomba Combo 10 Max
Worth $530 more in a larger home with pets or carpet, where owners say its pet-hair pickup and self-emptying dock pay off even though the mop underwhelms; now discontinued, with the Roomba Max 875 Combo + AutoWash Dock as its successor.
| Spec | Roomba Combo Essential | Roomba Combo 10 Max |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ~$170 | ~$700 |
| Type | Robot Vacuum & Mop | Robot Vacuum & Mop |
| Suction | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Battery | 120 min | — |
| Navigation | Gyroscope | LiDAR |
| Filtration | — | — |
| Cordless | Yes | Yes |
| Bagged | — | — |
| Noise | — | — |
| Dustbin | — | — |
| Water tank | — | — |
| Self-empty dock | No | Yes |
| Auto mop washing | No | Yes |
| Hot water washing | No | No |
| Obstacle avoidance | Yes | Yes |
| Carpet detection | No | Yes |
| Auto mop lifting | No | Yes |
| Multi-floor mapping | No | Yes |
| App control | Yes | Yes |
| Dimensions | 12.99 x 12.99 x 3.15 in | 13.3 x 13.3 x 3.4 in |
| Weight | 6.17 lbs | 11 lbs |
| Warranty | 1 year | 1 year |
Pros & cons
Roomba Combo Essential
- ✓Cheapest 2-in-1 vacuum+mop in the current Roomba lineup
- ✓Washable microfiber mop pad (rated ~30 uses) instead of disposable
- ✓Three suction levels and three water levels for some cleaning control
- ✓iRobot Home App with Clean Map reporting
- ✓Voice control via Alexa, Siri, Google Assistant
- ✗No auto mop lifting - it won't sense and avoid wetting rugs on its own
- ✗No self-empty station, no LiDAR mapping, no carpet detection
- ✗500 sq ft per cycle means bigger homes need multiple runs
- ✗iRobot doesn't publish suction power, dustbin capacity, water tank size, or noise level
- ✗Only Amazon listing found bundled a bottle of cleaning solution, not a clean standalone purchase
Roomba Combo 10 Max
- ✓AutoWash dock empties, refills water, and heat-washes/dries the mop pad automatically
- ✓Auto-retracting mop lifts itself on carpet
- ✓PrecisionVision navigation with Dirt Detective prioritized cleaning
- ✓Works with Alexa, Siri, Google Assistant, and Apple Home
- ✓Includes extra filter, brush, dirt bag, and mop pad in the box
- ✗$1,399.99 puts it at the very top of the mainstream robot vacuum market
- ✗iRobot doesn't publish suction power, dustbin capacity, water tank size, or noise level
- ✗Roborock/Dreame flagships in the same price range typically publish complete spec sheets
- ✗No hot water washing mentioned, unlike some competing flagship docks
Roomba Combo Essential vs Roomba Combo 10 Max: common questions
Is the Roomba Combo 10 Max worth $530 more than the Combo Essential?▾
For vacuuming in a bigger home, yes. Combo 10 Max owners report a perfect pet-hair pickup result and top-tier deep cleaning, plus a dock that empties itself. If mopping is the main reason, its below-average mop score makes the upgrade harder to justify, and the Combo 10 Max is now discontinued.
Will the Roomba Combo Essential wet my rugs compared with the Combo 10 Max?▾
It can. The Combo Essential has no carpet detection or mop lifting, so you need no-mop zones around area rugs. The Combo 10 Max detects carpet and retracts and lifts its mop automatically.
Can the Roomba Combo Essential clean a whole house like the Combo 10 Max?▾
Only a small one. It covers up to 500 sq ft per cycle and has no multi-floor mapping, so bigger homes need several runs. The Combo 10 Max maps multiple floors, though owners note its first mapping is slow.

