iRobot Roomba 105 Combo vs Roomba Combo Essential
vs
Quick take: The iRobot Roomba 105 Combo costs $105 less.
| Spec | iRobot Roomba 105 Combo | Roomba Combo Essential |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ~$170 | ~$275 |
| Type | Robot Vacuum & Mop | Robot Vacuum & Mop |
| Suction | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Battery | — | 120 min |
| Navigation | LiDAR | Gyroscope |
| Filtration | — | — |
| Cordless | Yes | Yes |
| Bagged | — | — |
| Noise | — | — |
| Dustbin | — | — |
| Water tank | — | — |
| Self-empty dock | No | No |
| Auto mop washing | No | No |
| Hot water washing | No | No |
| Obstacle avoidance | No | Yes |
| Carpet detection | Yes | No |
| Auto mop lifting | No | No |
| Multi-floor mapping | Yes | No |
| App control | Yes | Yes |
| Dimensions | 13.23 x 13.19 x 4.09 in | 12.99 x 12.99 x 3.15 in |
| Weight | 6.27 lbs | 6.17 lbs |
| Warranty | 1 year | 1 year |
Pros & cons
iRobot Roomba 105 Combo
- ✓LiDAR navigation and multi-floor mapping at a bump-nav price
- ✓Strong dry pickup for the money — a huge leap over old 600-series Roombas
- ✓Automatically refuses to mop carpet when the pad is on
- ✓Simple, stable app without the gimmick overload of Chinese rivals
- ✓Light 6.27 lb body and low 4.09 in profile fits under most furniture
- ✓Reusable microfiber pads instead of consumable disposables
- ✗Mopping is a damp-pad wipe, not scrubbing — skip it if mopping matters
- ✗No obstacle avoidance — pre-clean pickup of cables and socks is on you
- ✗iRobot publishes no runtime, suction, or bin specs whatsoever
- ✗No self-empty dock at this price tier
- ✗iRobot's ongoing financial troubles cloud long-term support
Roomba Combo Essential
- ✓Cheapest 2-in-1 vacuum+mop in the current Roomba lineup
- ✓Washable microfiber mop pad (rated ~30 uses) instead of disposable
- ✓Three suction levels and three water levels for some cleaning control
- ✓iRobot Home App with Clean Map reporting
- ✓Voice control via Alexa, Siri, Google Assistant
- ✗No auto mop lifting - it won't sense and avoid wetting rugs on its own
- ✗No self-empty station, no LiDAR mapping, no carpet detection
- ✗500 sq ft per cycle means bigger homes need multiple runs
- ✗iRobot doesn't publish suction power, dustbin capacity, water tank size, or noise level
- ✗Only Amazon listing found bundled a bottle of cleaning solution, not a clean standalone purchase

