Shark Rotator Lift-Away vs Shark Rotator Pet
Quick take: The Shark Rotator Pet costs $50 less.
Which one to buy
A detachable pod is the line between these two $300 Rotators. The Shark Rotator Lift-Away has one; the Shark Rotator Pet does not, and handles stairs and furniture through a 12-foot hose and wand instead. Both use a self-cleaning PowerFins HairPro brushroll, sealed HEPA filtration and a 5-year warranty, so the choice is about how you clean, not what you get for the money.
The Rotator Pet is the carpet and pet machine. Testing gave it a perfect deep-clean carpet score and near-flawless hair pickup, it holds 2.9 L against the Lift-Away's 1.5 L, and it adds an odor neutralizer. Its owners raise real caveats: some still dig dog hair out of the roller despite the self-cleaning claim, crevice-tool airflow tested well below average, full suction bunches lightweight rugs until you turn it down, and on some variants the cord enters low enough to trip over.
The Rotator Lift-Away is the versatility and weight pick. It is listed at 11.66 lbs against 15.2, adds LED headlights, and its owners value the three-mode design that lets the pod work as a canister on stairs and in cars with no noticeable drop in suction. Owners of the Lift-Away line do report a base that tips when the canister is lifted off, a pod with no shoulder strap, and attachment points that loosen over years and can leak suction. Because this lighter version is a recent redesign, there is little long-term record of it yet.
Most pet owners with carpet will be happier with the Rotator Pet. Giving up the pod costs them less than giving up half the cup and the stronger carpet results, since the long hose still reaches the stairs.
Shark Rotator Lift-Away
For homes with stairs, upholstery and cars to clean, where a detachable pod and a lighter frame matter more than the biggest cup.
Shark Rotator Pet
Best for carpet-heavy pet homes that want deep carpet cleaning, a 2.9 L cup and odor control, and can live without a pod.
| Spec | Shark Rotator Lift-Away | Shark Rotator Pet |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ~$300 | ~$250 |
| Type | Upright | Upright |
| Suction | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Battery | Corded | Corded |
| Navigation | — | — |
| Filtration | HEPA (Anti-Allergen Complete Seal) | Washable HEPA + foam/felt filters (Anti-Allergen Complete Seal) |
| Cordless | No | No |
| Bagged | No | No |
| Noise | — | — |
| Dustbin | 1.5 L | 2.9 L |
| Water tank | — | — |
| Self-empty dock | No | No |
| Auto mop washing | No | No |
| Hot water washing | No | No |
| Obstacle avoidance | No | No |
| Carpet detection | No | No |
| Auto mop lifting | No | No |
| Multi-floor mapping | No | No |
| App control | No | No |
| Dimensions | 16.57 x 12.01 x 45.55 in | 14.92 x 12.05 x 45.02 in |
| Weight | 11.66 lbs | 15.2 lbs |
| Warranty | 5 years | 5 years |
Pros & cons
Shark Rotator Lift-Away
- ✓Notably lighter than the Rotator Powered Lift-Away models it replaces
- ✓Detachable Lift-Away pod for stairs, furniture, and car interiors
- ✓Self-cleaning brushroll designed to resist hair wrap
- ✓HEPA filtration with Anti-Allergen Complete Seal
- ✓5-year limited warranty, longer than most uprights in this price range
- ✓LED headlights on the nozzle
- ✗Shark hasn't published an independent suction/airflow rating, only a generic 960W input figure
- ✗Too new to have a meaningful body of independent long-term reviews
- ✗Short hose limits above-floor reach compared to some Lift-Away siblings
- ✗Frequently shows as backordered directly on Shark's own site even when in stock at retailers
Shark Rotator Pet
- ✓Near-perfect independent test score for deep carpet cleaning
- ✓Handled both short and long pet hair with minimal tangling in third-party testing
- ✓Sealed suction measured slightly above the category average by an independent tester
- ✓Washable HEPA filtration plus Odor Neutralizer Technology for pet households
- ✓12-foot hose reach for stairs and furniture
- ✓5-year limited warranty
- ✗No Lift-Away detachable pod, unlike most other 'Lift-Away' Shark uprights
- ✗Weaker airflow at the nozzle head than at the hose, hurting crevice and upholstery pickup in testing
- ✗Struggled with larger debris on hard floors in independent testing
- ✗Can feel like too much suction on area rugs unless you use the adjustable relief lever
Shark Rotator Lift-Away vs Shark Rotator Pet: common questions
Can the Shark Rotator Pet's canister lift away like the Rotator Lift-Away's?▾
No. The Rotator Pet's canister stays on the base, and above-floor cleaning runs through its 12-foot hose and wand. Rotator Lift-Away owners rate the detachable pod as one of its best features for stairs, upholstery and car interiors.
Which is better for dog hair on carpet, the Shark Rotator Pet or the Rotator Lift-Away?▾
The Rotator Pet, by test results: a perfect deep-clean carpet score and near-flawless hair pickup, plus a 2.9 L cup. Some of its owners with dogs still report hair wrapping the roller, so expect occasional cleanup despite the self-cleaning brushroll.
Is the Shark Rotator Lift-Away lighter than the Rotator Pet?▾
On the spec sheet, yes: 11.66 lbs against 15.2 lbs. That matters most on stairs, though Rotator Lift-Away owners point out the pod has no shoulder strap, which makes carrying it one-handed awkward.

