Shark Rotator Lift-Away vs Shark Navigator Lift-Away ADV

Quick take: The Shark Navigator Lift-Away ADV costs $100 less.

SpecShark Rotator Lift-AwayShark Navigator Lift-Away ADV
Price~$300~$200
TypeUprightUpright
SuctionNot disclosedNot disclosed
BatteryCordedCorded
Navigation
FiltrationHEPA (Anti-Allergen Complete Seal)HEPA (Anti-Allergen Complete Seal)
CordlessNoNo
BaggedNoNo
Noise
Dustbin1.5 L0.76 L
Water tank
Self-empty dockNoNo
Auto mop washingNoNo
Hot water washingNoNo
Obstacle avoidanceNoNo
Carpet detectionNoNo
Auto mop liftingNoNo
Multi-floor mappingNoNo
App controlNoNo
Dimensions16.57 x 12.01 x 45.55 in12.48 x 9.17 x 34.65 in
Weight11.66 lbs16.29 lbs
Warranty5 years5 years

Pros & cons

Shark Rotator Lift-Away

  • Notably lighter than the Rotator Powered Lift-Away models it replaces
  • Detachable Lift-Away pod for stairs, furniture, and car interiors
  • Self-cleaning brushroll designed to resist hair wrap
  • HEPA filtration with Anti-Allergen Complete Seal
  • 5-year limited warranty, longer than most uprights in this price range
  • LED headlights on the nozzle
  • Shark hasn't published an independent suction/airflow rating, only a generic 960W input figure
  • Too new to have a meaningful body of independent long-term reviews
  • Short hose limits above-floor reach compared to some Lift-Away siblings
  • Frequently shows as backordered directly on Shark's own site even when in stock at retailers

Shark Navigator Lift-Away ADV

  • 4.5/5 star rating from Best Buy owners with 85% recommending it
  • Owners frequently compare its suction favorably to pricier Dyson uprights
  • Self-cleaning brushroll resists hair tangling that plagued older Navigator generations
  • Detachable Lift-Away pod for stairs and furniture
  • Near-instant assembly out of the box
  • Lightest, cheapest current Lift-Away upright in Shark's lineup at $199.99
  • Small 0.8-quart dust cup needs frequent emptying on a full-house clean
  • A few owners reported the unit running warm during extended use
  • Attachments can work loose during use
  • This trim lacks LED headlights that some other Lift-Away Sharks include — check before buying if that matters
  • Not sold through a dedicated primary Amazon listing; availability is concentrated at Best Buy, Ace Hardware, and Shark's own site