Shark Detect Pro PowerFins Cordless vs Shark Detect Pro Auto-Empty System
Quick take: The Shark Detect Pro PowerFins Cordless costs $51 less; the Shark Detect Pro Auto-Empty System runs longer per charge (60 vs 40 min).
Which one to buy
Is a self-emptying dock worth about $50? That is the real question here, because the Shark Detect Pro PowerFins Cordless at $199 and the Detect Pro Auto-Empty System at $250 share the Detect Pro stick design, HEPA filtration and a 5-year warranty on the vacuum. The IW3511 adds the 2 L dock, the full four-sensor suite with a QuadClean brushroll, and a 60-minute rating against the IW1120's 40.
For most homes the dock earns its price. PowerFins owners describe a bin in the 330-400ml range that needs frequent and sometimes messy emptying, while Auto-Empty owners call the dock the best part of ownership. The IW1120 is also the simpler machine, with a single DirtDetect sensor and no LightDetect headlight, and owners report a weaker showing on carpet, with one test recording about 75% pickup on low pile. Its strength is hard floors, where testers recorded near-perfect fine-debris pickup. Runtime ratings shrink on both: under 15 minutes at max for the PowerFins and about 25 at full power for the Auto-Empty, by owner accounts.
The IW1120's argument is simplicity and fewer parts to fail. Auto-Empty owners say the dock is covered for only 90 days and some failed within 5 to 6 months, and dust still collects inside it. The PowerFins stick carries its own complaints, a cracked handle and a wall mount that lets it fall among them, and some kits ship with only a crevice tool. In a small hard-floor apartment where a tiny bin is no burden, the $199 stick does the job. Anywhere with carpet or more floor to cover, the extra $51 buys more machine than the price gap suggests. Both are now discontinued, though; Shark's replacements are the PowerDetect Speed Cordless Stick Vacuum at $430 and the PowerDetect Speed Clean & Empty System at $500.
Shark Detect Pro PowerFins Cordless
Now discontinued, but fine for a small apartment that is mostly hard floor, where emptying a small cup is no chore and $199 is the ceiling.
Shark Detect Pro Auto-Empty System
Now discontinued, but for carpeted or larger homes that want the full sensor set and a dock that empties the bin, at a modest step up in price.
| Spec | Shark Detect Pro PowerFins Cordless | Shark Detect Pro Auto-Empty System |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ~$199 | ~$250 |
| Type | Cordless Stick | Cordless Stick |
| Suction | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Battery | 40 min | 60 min |
| Navigation | — | — |
| Filtration | HEPA | HEPA |
| Cordless | Yes | Yes |
| Bagged | No | No |
| Noise | — | — |
| Dustbin | — | 2 L |
| Water tank | — | — |
| Self-empty dock | No | No |
| Auto mop washing | No | No |
| Hot water washing | No | No |
| Obstacle avoidance | No | No |
| Carpet detection | No | No |
| Auto mop lifting | No | No |
| Multi-floor mapping | No | No |
| App control | No | No |
| Dimensions | 10.4 x 13.9 x 43 in | 10.4 x 14.3 x 43 in |
| Weight | 6 lbs | 14.8 lbs |
| Warranty | 5 years | 5 years |
Pros & cons
Shark Detect Pro PowerFins Cordless
- ✓5-year warranty on the vacuum plus a separately-covered 2-year replaceable battery
- ✓Owners report the PowerFins brushroll has stayed tangle-free after a year of regular use
- ✓Lightweight 6-lb body matches the easier-to-swing IW1111
- ✓Converts to a handheld for stairs, car interiors, and upholstery
- ✓HEPA filtration on a sub-$200 machine
- ✗Only one detect sensor (DirtDetect) vs. the IW1111's four — no EdgeDetect or LightDetect
- ✗Shark has not published a dustbin capacity figure for this model
- ✗40-minute Eco runtime shrinks quickly once auto-boost kicks in on carpet
- ✗Frequently priced close to the better-equipped IW1111, so check current pricing before buying
Shark Detect Pro Auto-Empty System
- ✓Auto-empty 2L base means far fewer manual dustbin trips
- ✓Owners report the QuadClean brushroll stays tangle-free after a year of use
- ✓Full 4-sensor Detect suite (dirt, edge, floor, low-light) vs. the base IW1120
- ✓60-minute rated runtime covers a full-house clean for most owners
- ✓Odor-neutralizer puck is a genuinely useful touch for pet homes
- ✓5-year warranty matches the rest of the Detect Pro family
- ✗Hard plastic wheels can slide on slippery hardwood or laminate when turning quickly
- ✗At least one long-term owner found pickup on larger debris inconsistent
- ✗Shark's own site now redirects shoppers toward the newer PowerDetect line, suggesting this is a legacy SKU being sold through rather than actively promoted
- ✗Base station adds real bulk and counter/floor footprint vs. a plain stick
- ✗Amazon pricing has been volatile — seen anywhere from ~$180 to the $449.99 list, so check current price carefully before buying
Shark Detect Pro PowerFins Cordless vs Shark Detect Pro Auto-Empty System: common questions
What do you give up with the Shark Detect Pro PowerFins Cordless versus the Auto-Empty System?▾
You lose the 2 L self-emptying dock, three of the four Detect sensors, the QuadClean brushroll and rated runtime drops from 60 minutes to 40. In return you save $51 and avoid a dock that owners say carries only a 90-day warranty.
How often will I empty the Shark Detect Pro PowerFins Cordless compared with the docked version?▾
Often. PowerFins owners put the bin at 330-400ml and describe emptying as frequent and sometimes messy. The Auto-Empty System's dock handles most of that, though owners note dust still builds up inside its compartment over time.
Is the Shark Detect Pro Auto-Empty System's dock likely to fail?▾
Some owners report the base failing within 5 to 6 months, and they say Shark covers it for only 90 days even though the vacuum itself has a 5-year warranty. Most still call the dock the best feature, but budget for that risk.
