Shark Detect Pro Cordless vs Shark Detect Pro Auto-Empty System

Quick take: The Shark Detect Pro Auto-Empty System costs $10 less; the Shark Detect Pro Auto-Empty System runs longer per charge (60 vs 40 min).

Which one to buy

Ten dollars separates these, and it runs the wrong way for the plain stick: the Detect Pro Auto-Empty System is listed at $250, the bare Detect Pro Cordless at $260. Both carry the four-sensor Detect suite, the QuadClean brushroll, HEPA filtration and a 5-year warranty. For less money the IW3511 adds a 2 L charging dock that empties the bin for you and a rated 60 minutes against the IW1111's 40. On paper that settles it.

The bin is why the dock matters. Detect Pro owners describe a cup of roughly 0.3L that fills mid-clean in bigger homes, and the IW1111 cannot be docked later, because the auto-empty base only works with the IW3xxx versions. Auto-Empty owners call the hands-off emptying the best part of owning it. Runtime claims shrink on both: about 15 minutes at max power on the plain stick, about 25 on the docked one, by owner accounts.

The case against the dock is what can go wrong with it. Auto-Empty owners report the base is covered for only 90 days, not the 5 years on the vacuum, and some say it failed within 5 to 6 months. Dust also builds up inside the dock's plastic compartment and needs a hand clean now and then. Detect Pro owners in multi-pet homes report hair clogging the narrow airway, and hair jamming the empty cycle on the docked version too, so a dock does not rescue a heavy-shedding household. The base also takes floor space a wall-mounted stick does not, and the listed 14.8 lbs reflects that bulk. Where there is room for it, the IW3511 is the better buy at these prices, though both are now discontinued; Shark's replacements are the PowerDetect Speed Cordless Stick Vacuum at $430 and the PowerDetect Speed Clean & Empty System at $500.

Shark Detect Pro Cordless

Now discontinued; worth it only if you have nowhere to park a charging base or would rather avoid a dock with a short warranty; otherwise you pay more for less here.

Shark Detect Pro Auto-Empty System

Now discontinued, but the default for most homes: same sensors and brushroll, a longer rated runtime and a 2 L self-emptying dock, for $10 less.

SpecShark Detect Pro CordlessShark Detect Pro Auto-Empty System
Price~$260~$250
TypeCordless StickCordless Stick
SuctionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Battery40 min60 min
Navigation——
FiltrationHEPAHEPA
CordlessYesYes
BaggedNoNo
Noise——
Dustbin—2 L
Water tank——
Self-empty dockNoNo
Auto mop washingNoNo
Hot water washingNoNo
Obstacle avoidanceNoNo
Carpet detectionNoNo
Auto mop liftingNoNo
Multi-floor mappingNoNo
App controlNoNo
Dimensions10.4 x 13.9 x 43 in10.4 x 14.3 x 43 in
Weight6 lbs14.8 lbs
Warranty5 years5 years

Pros & cons

Shark Detect Pro Cordless

  • ✓Auto-adjusting sensors genuinely work — power boosts on dirt, edges, and carpet without touching a button
  • ✓6-lb weight makes it one of the easiest sticks to use on stairs and quick cleanups
  • ✓LightDetect headlight reveals fine dust on hard floors
  • ✓QuadClean brushroll transitions well between hard floors and carpet
  • ✓HEPA filter with a fully sealed system at a mid-range price
  • ✓Often discounted well below its $380 list price, where owners call it excellent value
  • ✗Real-world runtime with auto-boost active is often 15-25 minutes, not the rated 40
  • ✗Small dust cup fills fast, especially with pet hair
  • ✗Filter needs frequent rinsing or suction drops noticeably
  • ✗3.5-hour recharge with no quick-swap second battery included
  • ✗This bare IW1111 is not compatible with Shark's auto-empty dock — that requires the IW3xxx versions

Shark Detect Pro Auto-Empty System

  • ✓Auto-empty 2L base means far fewer manual dustbin trips
  • ✓Owners report the QuadClean brushroll stays tangle-free after a year of use
  • ✓Full 4-sensor Detect suite (dirt, edge, floor, low-light) vs. the base IW1120
  • ✓60-minute rated runtime covers a full-house clean for most owners
  • ✓Odor-neutralizer puck is a genuinely useful touch for pet homes
  • ✓5-year warranty matches the rest of the Detect Pro family
  • ✗Hard plastic wheels can slide on slippery hardwood or laminate when turning quickly
  • ✗At least one long-term owner found pickup on larger debris inconsistent
  • ✗Shark's own site now redirects shoppers toward the newer PowerDetect line, suggesting this is a legacy SKU being sold through rather than actively promoted
  • ✗Base station adds real bulk and counter/floor footprint vs. a plain stick
  • ✗Amazon pricing has been volatile — seen anywhere from ~$180 to the $449.99 list, so check current price carefully before buying

Shark Detect Pro Cordless vs Shark Detect Pro Auto-Empty System: common questions

Why is the Shark Detect Pro Auto-Empty System cheaper than the Detect Pro Cordless without a dock?▾

At the listed prices the IW3511 is $250 and the IW1111 is $260, even though the docked version adds a 2 L base and a 60-minute rating. Shark's own site now steers shoppers toward the PowerDetect line, so it looks like an older model being sold through. Both are now discontinued.

Can I add an auto-empty dock to the Shark Detect Pro Cordless later?▾

No. The bare IW1111 is not compatible with Shark's auto-empty dock, which works with the IW3xxx versions. If you think you will want self-emptying, buy the Detect Pro Auto-Empty System up front rather than planning an upgrade.

Is the dock on the Shark Detect Pro Auto-Empty System reliable?▾

It is the most praised part of the machine and also its weak spot. Owners report the base carries only a 90-day warranty, with some docks failing within 5 to 6 months, and dust collecting inside the plastic compartment that still needs occasional manual cleaning.

Does either Detect Pro stick suit a multi-pet home?▾

Neither is a strong choice for heavy shedders. Detect Pro owners in multi-pet homes report the narrow airway and small bin clogging with hair, and hair jamming the empty cycle on the docked variant, so the dock removes bin trips but not clogs.