iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ vs Roomba Combo 10 Max

Quick take: The Roomba Combo 10 Max costs $100 less.

Which one to buy

iRobot's two retracting-mop combos share the trick that keeps rugs dry: the pad lifts up onto the robot over carpet, and owners of the Combo j9+ call it the most elegant answer to carpet mopping there is. What separates them is the dock, and the cheaper one has the better dock. Both are now discontinued: iRobot's replacements are the Roomba Max 775 Combo + AutoWash Dock at $800 for the j9+ and the Roomba Max 875 Combo + AutoWash Dock at $1200 for the 10 Max. The Roomba Combo 10 Max cost $100 less at $700, and its AutoWash dock empties the bin, refills the water and washes and dries the pad. The j9+ dock only empties the bin, so you rinse the mop pad by hand after every mopping run, which owners call the dealbreaker at its price.

Owners also rate the 10 Max ahead on vacuuming. Testing gave it a perfect pet-hair result and tied it for sixth of more than 100 robots on deep cleaning. j9+ owners praise its dual rubber extractors for pet hair too, along with obstacle avoidance that keeps it off cables and shoes, and quiet 65 dB running.

Neither is a strong mopper, and the 10 Max's dock has real problems. Testers found its spinning-roller wash messy and inefficient, leaving more water in the pad than rival docks. They ran a second unit to confirm it and raised reliability concerns about all those moving parts. Its mopping scored slightly below average, the dock is loud during washing, and it took about four times longer than competitors to map a space. j9+ owners describe mopping as a light-pressure damp wipe from a 210 ml tank that runs dry in bigger rooms, slow camera navigation that needs ambient light, and some features behind a subscription.

For buyers who find leftover stock, the 10 Max is the better deal: cheaper, hands-off mop care and stronger vacuuming evidence. Choose the j9+ only if a simpler dock with fewer moving parts matters more to you than never touching a dirty mop pad. If mopping quality is your priority, neither is the right robot.

iRobot Roomba Combo j9+

Now discontinued, but the better pick if you want the retracting mop and a simpler dock with fewer moving parts, and you don't mind rinsing the pad by hand after each mop.

Roomba Combo 10 Max

Now discontinued, but suits you if you want iRobot's retracting mop with a dock that washes and dries the pad, plus top-tier pet-hair pickup, for $100 less than the j9+.

SpeciRobot Roomba Combo j9+Roomba Combo 10 Max
Price~$800~$700
TypeRobot Vacuum & MopRobot Vacuum & Mop
SuctionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Battery120 min—
NavigationCameraLiDAR
Filtration——
CordlessYesYes
Bagged——
Noise65 dB—
Dustbin400 ml—
Water tank210 ml—
Self-empty dockYesYes
Auto mop washingNoYes
Hot water washingNoNo
Obstacle avoidanceYesYes
Carpet detectionYesYes
Auto mop liftingYesYes
Multi-floor mappingYesYes
App controlYesYes
Dimensions13.7 x 13.7 x 3.4 in13.3 x 13.3 x 3.4 in
Weight8.9 lbs11 lbs
Warranty1 year1 year

Pros & cons

iRobot Roomba Combo j9+

  • ✓Innovative retractable mop fully lifts to the top of the robot over carpet
  • ✓Same excellent carpet cleaning as the j9+ with dual rubber extractors
  • ✓Smart mapping learns room types and adjusts cleaning behavior automatically
  • ✓P.O.O.P. guarantee covers pet waste incidents
  • ✓Quieter than most competitors at 65dB
  • ✗No self-wash dock — you must manually clean the mop pad
  • ✗Mopping performance is mediocre compared to dedicated mop robots
  • ✗Camera navigation is slower than LiDAR and needs ambient light
  • ✗Expensive at around $800 without a self-washing station included

Roomba Combo 10 Max

  • ✓AutoWash dock empties, refills water, and heat-washes/dries the mop pad automatically
  • ✓Auto-retracting mop lifts itself on carpet
  • ✓PrecisionVision navigation with Dirt Detective prioritized cleaning
  • ✓Works with Alexa, Siri, Google Assistant, and Apple Home
  • ✓Includes extra filter, brush, dirt bag, and mop pad in the box
  • ✗$1,399.99 puts it at the very top of the mainstream robot vacuum market
  • ✗iRobot doesn't publish suction power, dustbin capacity, water tank size, or noise level
  • ✗Roborock/Dreame flagships in the same price range typically publish complete spec sheets
  • ✗No hot water washing mentioned, unlike some competing flagship docks

iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ vs Roomba Combo 10 Max: common questions

Why is the Roomba Combo 10 Max cheaper than the Combo j9+ when it has a self-washing dock?▾

At their last prices, the 10 Max was $100 less while adding mop washing and drying. j9+ owners already call the lack of a self-washing dock its biggest gap, so the 10 Max is the better value unless you specifically want a simpler dock.

Does either mop well enough to replace hand mopping?▾

Not really. j9+ owners describe a light damp wipe with no spinning or vibration. The 10 Max scored slightly below average on mopping in testing and its dock leaves extra water in the pad, which can cause streaks.

Which is better for a shedding dog or cat?▾

Both vacuum well. The 10 Max has the stronger evidence, with a perfect pet-hair result in lab testing, and j9+ owners praise its dual rubber extractors for pet hair. Both include obstacle avoidance to steer around pet toys.

Is the Combo 10 Max's wash dock likely to cause trouble?▾

Testers flagged it. They called the spinning-roller wash messy and inefficient and confirmed it with a second unit, citing the number of moving parts as a reliability concern. The j9+ avoids that risk by not washing the pad at all.