Hoover WindTunnel 3 Max Performance Pet vs Shark Navigator Lift-Away ADV

Quick take: The Hoover WindTunnel 3 Max Performance Pet costs $71 less.

Which one to buy

Stairs and hair wrap decide this one. At $199 and $200 the price is a wash, and both are corded bagless pet uprights with HEPA filtration and no published suction figure. The Shark Navigator Lift-Away ADV has a pod that detaches for stairs and furniture, a self-cleaning brushroll that its owners say rarely needs hair cut out of it, swivel steering, and a 5-year warranty. The Hoover WindTunnel 3 Max Performance Pet has none of those: its head pivots without a ball-joint swivel, it weighs 18 lbs to the Shark's 16.29, and its warranty runs 3 years.

What the Hoover does better is filtration you can smell and a bigger bin. Owners and testers single out its carbon layer for pet odor, rate its carpet suction well above typical budget uprights, and like the 1.5 qt cup. The cost is ongoing: its HEPA and carbon filters aren't washable and need replacing every 3-6 months in pet-heavy homes. The 27-foot cord and dated design are smaller gripes, and hard floors are only adequate.

The Shark's record has its own caveats. Weight and bulk are the most common owner complaint even with the pod, the 0.76 L cup fills quickly in larger homes, and some owners notice a musty smell over time, usually traced to a filter that needed washing more often. A few switching from an earlier Shark feel it is a step down on bare floors, though others praise how it picks up cat litter there without scattering it. On durability, some commercial cleaners report 8 years of daily use from earlier Navigator Lift-Away units.

For most homes the Shark is the better buy: a pod for stairs, a brushroll you don't have to cut hair off, and a longer warranty for the same money. The Hoover is the pick for a single-level, mostly carpeted home where pet odor is the main complaint.

Hoover WindTunnel 3 Max Performance Pet

Makes sense if you clean one carpeted floor, pet odor bothers you more than hair wrap, and you'll budget for filter replacements every few months.

Shark Navigator Lift-Away ADV

Worth it if you have stairs or furniture to clean, long hair keeps wrapping your brushroll, or you want the 5-year warranty.

SpecHoover WindTunnel 3 Max Performance PetShark Navigator Lift-Away ADV
Price~$199~$270
TypeUprightUpright
SuctionNot disclosedNot disclosed
BatteryCordedCorded
Navigation——
FiltrationHEPA media filter + carbon layerHEPA (Anti-Allergen Complete Seal)
CordlessNoNo
BaggedNoNo
Noise——
Dustbin1.5 qt0.76 L
Water tank——
Self-empty dockNoNo
Auto mop washingNoNo
Hot water washingNoNo
Obstacle avoidanceNoNo
Carpet detectionNoNo
Auto mop liftingNoNo
Multi-floor mappingNoNo
App controlNoNo
Dimensions—12.48 x 9.17 x 34.65 in
Weight18 lbs16.29 lbs
Warranty5 years5 years

Pros & cons

Hoover WindTunnel 3 Max Performance Pet

  • ✓Strong pet-hair pickup on carpet for the price
  • ✓13-cyclone system maintains suction as the cup fills
  • ✓HEPA + carbon filtration helps with pet dander and odor
  • ✓Bottom-release dirt cup for cleaner emptying
  • ✓Comes with pet turbo tool, wand, and crevice tool
  • ✓5-year motor warranty, longer than most sub-$200 uprights
  • ✗No published suction figure (Hoover doesn't disclose AW or similar for this model)
  • ✗Weaker on hardwood than on carpet in hands-on testing
  • ✗No confirmed swivel steering — maneuvering around furniture is average at best
  • ✗18 lbs is heavy for a bagless upright in this price class
  • ✗1.5 qt dirt cup needs frequent emptying in a shedding household

Shark Navigator Lift-Away ADV

  • ✓4.5/5 star rating from Best Buy owners with 85% recommending it
  • ✓Owners frequently compare its suction favorably to pricier Dyson uprights
  • ✓Self-cleaning brushroll resists hair tangling that plagued older Navigator generations
  • ✓Detachable Lift-Away pod for stairs and furniture
  • ✓Near-instant assembly out of the box
  • ✓Lightest, cheapest current Lift-Away upright in Shark's lineup at $199.99
  • ✗Small 0.8-quart dust cup needs frequent emptying on a full-house clean
  • ✗A few owners reported the unit running warm during extended use
  • ✗Attachments can work loose during use
  • ✗This trim lacks LED headlights that some other Lift-Away Sharks include — check before buying if that matters
  • ✗Not sold through a dedicated primary Amazon listing; availability is concentrated at Best Buy, Ace Hardware, and Shark's own site

Hoover WindTunnel 3 Max Performance Pet vs Shark Navigator Lift-Away ADV: common questions

Does the Hoover WindTunnel 3 Max control pet odor better than the Shark Navigator Lift-Away ADV?▾

That is the Hoover's clearest advantage. Owners and testers single out its dedicated carbon layer for odor, not just dust. Some Shark owners report a musty smell building over time, usually fixed by washing the filter more often.

Which one is easier to use on stairs?▾

The Shark, because its Lift-Away pod detaches so you carry only the canister. Owners still call the Shark heavy and bulky on longer sessions, but the Hoover has no pod at all, weighs 18 lbs, and its owners call stair-carrying impractical.

Which is cheaper to own over a few years?▾

Likely the Shark. Hoover owners say its HEPA and carbon filters aren't washable and need replacing every 3-6 months in pet-heavy homes, and Shark owners describe affordable, widely available filters that mostly need regular washing. The Shark's 5-year warranty also outlasts the Hoover's 3 years.