Hoover High Performance Swivel XL Pet vs Shark Navigator Lift-Away ADV

Hoover
Hoover High Performance Swivel XL Pet
~$205
Check price on Hoover (also sold at evacuumstore.com) →Quick take: The Hoover High Performance Swivel XL Pet costs $65 less.
Which one to buy
A 5-year warranty is the plainest difference between these two pet uprights. Shark backs the Navigator Lift-Away ADV for 5 years, and Hoover doesn't publish a warranty length for the High Performance Swivel XL Pet. With $5 between them and similar 16-pound bodies, that tilts things toward the Shark before cleaning even comes up.
The Shark's owners give it strong marks there too. They describe it out-cleaning pricier uprights on pet hair and embedded carpet debris, picking up cat litter from bare floors without scattering it, and a self-cleaning brushroll that rarely needs hair cut out. The lift-away pod helps on stairs and upholstery, and earlier units in the line have run 8 years of daily commercial use. The complaints: it's heavy and bulky over long sessions, some owners notice a musty smell traced to an unwashed filter, its 0.76 L cup fills fast, and some coming from other Shark models think it's a little weaker on hardwood.
The Hoover's spec sheet answers the Shark's weak spots. Its 3.0 L dirt cup dwarfs the Shark's, a carbon layer on the HEPA filter targets pet odor, and its 30 ft cord and 10 ft wand reach further. It has real ball-joint swivel steering and a 1200 W motor. It has no lift-away pod, no published suction figure, and has been sold under several model numbers, so check the exact SKU.
Buy the Shark for most pet homes. Choose the Hoover if a large cup and long cord matter more than a proven warranty.
Hoover High Performance Swivel XL Pet
Choose it if you want a big 3.0 L cup, a 30 ft cord and odor-targeting carbon filtration, and can do without a published warranty.
Shark Navigator Lift-Away ADV
The better pick if you want a 5-year warranty, a lift-away pod for stairs, and a brushroll owners say rarely tangles.
| Spec | Hoover High Performance Swivel XL Pet | Shark Navigator Lift-Away ADV |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ~$205 | ~$270 |
| Type | Upright | Upright |
| Suction | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Battery | Corded | Corded |
| Navigation | — | — |
| Filtration | HEPA media filter (99.97%) + carbon pet filter | HEPA (Anti-Allergen Complete Seal) |
| Cordless | No | No |
| Bagged | No | No |
| Noise | — | — |
| Dustbin | 3.0 L | 0.76 L |
| Water tank | — | — |
| Self-empty dock | No | No |
| Auto mop washing | No | No |
| Hot water washing | No | No |
| Obstacle avoidance | No | No |
| Carpet detection | No | No |
| Auto mop lifting | No | No |
| Multi-floor mapping | No | No |
| App control | No | No |
| Dimensions | 13.375 x 13.3 x 44.8 in | 12.48 x 9.17 x 34.65 in |
| Weight | 16 lbs | 16.29 lbs |
| Warranty | — | 5 years |
Pros & cons
Hoover High Performance Swivel XL Pet
- ✓Real swivel steering — noticeably easier to maneuver than Hoover's WindTunnel 3 line
- ✓Large 3.0 L dirt cup means fewer trips to the trash
- ✓PowerFlex antimicrobial brush roll targets pet hair
- ✓Carbon layer on the HEPA filter helps with pet odor, not just dust
- ✓1200 W motor with dual-cyclone airflow
- ✓30 ft cord and 10 ft telescopic wand reach
- ✓Comes with 2-in-1 pet upholstery tool, dusting brush, and crevice tool
- ✗No published suction figure (air watts or otherwise)
- ✗No published warranty length found for this SKU
- ✗Sold under several near-identical model numbers over the years — verify the exact SKU before buying
- ✗Bagless bin still needs washing periodically to keep the HEPA filter effective
Shark Navigator Lift-Away ADV
- ✓4.5/5 star rating from Best Buy owners with 85% recommending it
- ✓Owners frequently compare its suction favorably to pricier Dyson uprights
- ✓Self-cleaning brushroll resists hair tangling that plagued older Navigator generations
- ✓Detachable Lift-Away pod for stairs and furniture
- ✓Near-instant assembly out of the box
- ✓Lightest, cheapest current Lift-Away upright in Shark's lineup at $199.99
- ✗Small 0.8-quart dust cup needs frequent emptying on a full-house clean
- ✗A few owners reported the unit running warm during extended use
- ✗Attachments can work loose during use
- ✗This trim lacks LED headlights that some other Lift-Away Sharks include — check before buying if that matters
- ✗Not sold through a dedicated primary Amazon listing; availability is concentrated at Best Buy, Ace Hardware, and Shark's own site
Hoover High Performance Swivel XL Pet vs Shark Navigator Lift-Away ADV: common questions
Which handles pet hair and odor better?▾
For hair, Shark owners report its self-cleaning brushroll rarely tangles and pulls up hair they hadn't noticed. For odor, the Hoover adds a carbon layer to its HEPA filter. Some Shark owners report a musty smell over time, usually fixed by washing the filter more often.
Why does the dust cup size matter between these two?▾
The Hoover holds 3.0 L against the Shark's 0.76 L, so in a large or heavily shedding home the Shark needs emptying several times per session. Shark owners name the small cup as a regular annoyance.
Are both heavy to carry upstairs?▾
Yes, both weigh about 16 pounds. Shark owners call weight and bulk their top complaint, but its lift-away pod lets you carry only the canister for stairs. The Hoover has no pod, so stairs mean the hose and wand.
