DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Dry Hand Vacuum (Tool Only) vs Greenworks 24V Brushless Cordless Handheld/Stick Vacuum
Quick take: The DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Dry Hand Vacuum (Tool Only) costs $1 less; the Greenworks 24V Brushless Cordless Handheld/Stick Vacuum runs longer per charge (45 vs 21 min).
Which one to buy
Drywall dust or dog hair? These $130 handhelds are built for different messes. The DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Dry Hand Vacuum is a jobsite tool aimed at drywall dust, screws and nails, with 46 CFM of airflow, OSHA Table 1 HEPA compliance and six attachments including an extension tube and floor nozzle. It is a bare tool, so without DeWalt 20V MAX batteries the real cost climbs past $150, and at 6.9 lbs it is heavy for a handheld. It has no motorized brush.
The Greenworks 24V Brushless is a home vacuum that works as a stick or handheld. It includes a motorized deep-cleaning brush for pet hair, HEPA filtration, a battery in the box that charges over USB-C in 30 minutes, a rated 45 minutes against DeWalt's 21, and a 5.1 lb body. Neither publishes a bin capacity, and both carry 3-year warranties.
For pet hair, upholstery and household floors, buy the Greenworks; it is the complete package at the same money.
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Dry Hand Vacuum (Tool Only)
Best for jobsite dust and debris if you already own DeWalt 20V MAX batteries.
Greenworks 24V Brushless Cordless Handheld/Stick Vacuum
Made for home use and pet hair; it includes a battery, a motorized brush and a longer rated runtime.
| Spec | DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Dry Hand Vacuum (Tool Only) | Greenworks 24V Brushless Cordless Handheld/Stick Vacuum |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ~$129 | ~$130 |
| Type | Handheld | Handheld |
| Suction | 46 CFM | 160 AW |
| Battery | 21 min | 45 min |
| Navigation | — | — |
| Filtration | HEPA | HEPA |
| Cordless | Yes | Yes |
| Bagged | No | No |
| Noise | — | — |
| Dustbin | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Water tank | — | — |
| Self-empty dock | No | No |
| Auto mop washing | No | No |
| Hot water washing | No | No |
| Obstacle avoidance | No | No |
| Carpet detection | No | No |
| Auto mop lifting | No | No |
| Multi-floor mapping | No | No |
| App control | No | No |
| Dimensions | 7.3 x 20.38 x 9.5 in | — |
| Weight | 6.9 lbs | 5.1 lbs |
| Warranty | 3 years | 3 years |
Pros & cons
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Dry Hand Vacuum (Tool Only)
- ✓46 CFM motor is the strongest published airflow figure among comparable jobsite handhelds
- ✓HEPA filtration meets OSHA Table 1 dust-control compliance
- ✓Ships with 6 attachments — extension tube, floor nozzle, flexible hose, crevice nozzle, gulper brush, round brush
- ✓Belt hook and accessory holder keep tools organized on a jobsite
- ✓Runs on the same 20V MAX batteries as DeWalt's drills and other tools
- ✓3-year limited warranty plus 1 year free service and 90-day satisfaction guarantee
- ✗Bare tool — no battery or charger included, adding real cost for non-DeWalt owners
- ✗No published dustbin/tank capacity in ounces or liters
- ✗No published noise level
- ✗At 6.9 lbs, notably heavier than a consumer handheld
- ✗No motorized brush — not built for pet hair despite the handheld size
Greenworks 24V Brushless Cordless Handheld/Stick Vacuum
- ✓Includes a genuine motorized 'Deep Cleaning' brush, not just a passive bristle attachment
- ✓160 AW brushless motor with a 45-minute rated runtime
- ✓Fast 30-minute USB-C charge time, well ahead of most competitors
- ✓HEPA filtration with manufacturer-sold replacement filters confirming it's a real spec, not just marketing
- ✓Comes with a full accessory kit: round brush, soft bristle brush, crevice tool, and charging station
- ✓3-year product and battery warranty
- ✗No published dustbin capacity
- ✗No published noise level
- ✗Too new a line for long-term owner reliability data on the motor or motorized brush
- ✗Greenworks' own site price ($220.99) is far above the typical street price — shop around before paying list
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Dry Hand Vacuum (Tool Only) vs Greenworks 24V Brushless Cordless Handheld/Stick Vacuum: common questions
Does the DeWalt hand vacuum come with a battery?▾
No. It is sold as a bare tool, with the battery and charger sold separately. If you do not already own DeWalt 20V MAX packs, the total cost runs well past $150, while the Greenworks includes its battery and charging station.
Which one is better for pet hair on furniture?▾
The Greenworks, because it ships with a motorized deep-cleaning brush that agitates hair out of fabric. The DeWalt has no motorized brush and is designed for construction debris such as drywall dust, screws and nails.
Is the DeWalt's HEPA filter useful at home?▾
It meets OSHA Table 1 jobsite dust rules, so it captures fine dust well. The Greenworks also has HEPA filtration with replacement filters sold by the maker, so for household dust either covers filtration, and the Greenworks is lighter.

