Black+Decker POWERSERIES Extreme Pet Cordless Stick Vacuum vs Shark Detect Pro PowerFins Cordless

Quick take: The Black+Decker POWERSERIES Extreme Pet Cordless Stick Vacuum costs $14 less; the Black+Decker POWERSERIES Extreme Pet Cordless Stick Vacuum runs longer per charge (55 vs 40 min).

Which one to buy

Your floors pick this one. The POWERSERIES Extreme Pet costs $185 and the Shark sold for $199 before it was discontinued, and both have removable batteries, but owners describe them as specialists in opposite rooms. The Shark Detect Pro PowerFins Cordless is strongest on hard floors and along edges, with one lab test recording full pickup of coffee grounds, while one test managed only about 75% debris removal on low-pile carpet. The Black+Decker POWERSERIES Extreme Pet is the reverse: its owners say carpet deep-cleaning tests above average for the price, while its floorhead pushes cereal and litter around on hard floors.

Pet hair follows the same split. POWERSERIES owners say its anti-tangle bar goes months without needing hair cut off. Shark results are mixed across independent tests, with some finding its combs nearly flawless and others measuring hair clumping in the roller.

The Shark carries the stronger paperwork: a 5-year warranty on the vacuum, a separately covered 2-year replaceable battery, HEPA filtration and a dirt sensor that boosts power automatically. Its owners note a small bin of roughly 330-400 ml that is messy to empty, under 15 minutes at max power, few accessories in some kits and a few reports of a cracked handle or a wall mount that lets it fall. POWERSERIES owners report about 11 minutes on max, filtration they call below average, a filter that must be washed and dried about every two weeks to hold suction, noise around 80 dB and battery capacity fading within about 10 months for some. Its 750 ml bin is larger, and its 20V MAX pack works with Black+Decker tools.

The Shark suited hardwood, tile and allergy concerns, but it is now discontinued; Shark's successor is the PowerDetect Speed Cordless Stick Vacuum at $430. For carpeted rooms with a shedding pet, buy the POWERSERIES Extreme Pet.

Black+Decker POWERSERIES Extreme Pet Cordless Stick Vacuum

Best for carpet-heavy homes with shedding pets where its above-average carpet pickup and anti-tangle bar matter most.

Shark Detect Pro PowerFins Cordless

Made for mostly hard floors, edge cleaning and HEPA filtration, backed by a 5-year vacuum warranty; now discontinued, with the $430 Shark PowerDetect Speed Cordless Stick Vacuum as its successor.

SpecBlack+Decker POWERSERIES Extreme Pet Cordless Stick VacuumShark Detect Pro PowerFins Cordless
Price~$185~$199
TypeCordless StickCordless Stick
SuctionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Battery55 min40 min
Navigation——
FiltrationTwist-to-clean filterHEPA
CordlessYesYes
BaggedNoNo
Noise——
Dustbin750 ml—
Water tank——
Self-empty dockNoNo
Auto mop washingNoNo
Hot water washingNoNo
Obstacle avoidanceNoNo
Carpet detectionNoNo
Auto mop liftingNoNo
Multi-floor mappingNoNo
App controlNoNo
Dimensions12.4 x 6.3 x 27.9 in10.4 x 13.9 x 43 in
Weight—6 lbs
Warranty2 years5 years

Pros & cons

Black+Decker POWERSERIES Extreme Pet Cordless Stick Vacuum

  • ✓Bigger 750ml dustbin than the base BSV2020G's 650ml
  • ✓Interchangeable floorhead with LED lighting for spotting debris in dim rooms
  • ✓Anti-tangle rubber-bristle brush bar aimed at pet hair
  • ✓Converts to a handheld for stairs, furniture, and car interiors
  • ✓3-speed control and a twist-to-clean filter
  • ✓2-year limited warranty
  • ✗Nearly double the price of the base Powerseries Extreme for a bigger bin and extra accessories
  • ✗55-minute runtime figure is almost certainly a low-speed/brush-off rating, not real-world use
  • ✗No motor-driven pet tool — the brush bar is the same anti-tangle design as the non-Pet model
  • ✗True weight is unclear — manufacturer figure looks inflated and Amazon's own listing is unreliable

Shark Detect Pro PowerFins Cordless

  • ✓5-year warranty on the vacuum plus a separately-covered 2-year replaceable battery
  • ✓Owners report the PowerFins brushroll has stayed tangle-free after a year of regular use
  • ✓Lightweight 6-lb body matches the easier-to-swing IW1111
  • ✓Converts to a handheld for stairs, car interiors, and upholstery
  • ✓HEPA filtration on a sub-$200 machine
  • ✗Only one detect sensor (DirtDetect) vs. the IW1111's four — no EdgeDetect or LightDetect
  • ✗Shark has not published a dustbin capacity figure for this model
  • ✗40-minute Eco runtime shrinks quickly once auto-boost kicks in on carpet
  • ✗Frequently priced close to the better-equipped IW1111, so check current pricing before buying

Black+Decker POWERSERIES Extreme Pet Cordless Stick Vacuum vs Shark Detect Pro PowerFins Cordless: common questions

Which cordless stick here is better for hardwood floors?▾

The Shark, though it is now discontinued. Its owners point to near-perfect fine-debris pickup on hard floors and strong edge cleaning. POWERSERIES Extreme Pet owners say its floorhead plows larger debris like cereal and litter rather than picking it up.

Which handles dog hair on carpet better?▾

The POWERSERIES Extreme Pet has the more consistent record, with owners reporting months without hair wrap and above-average carpet results. Shark results on pet hair vary across tests, and one test found it removed only about 75% of debris on low-pile carpet.

How do the warranties and batteries compare?▾

The Shark has a 5-year warranty on the vacuum and a 2-year warranty on its replaceable battery. The POWERSERIES has a 2-year warranty, but its 20V MAX battery swaps with Black+Decker yard and shop tools, which helps if you already own spares.