Black+Decker Powerseries Extreme vs Black+Decker POWERSERIES Extreme MAX 20V Cordless Stick Vacuum

Quick take: The Black+Decker POWERSERIES Extreme MAX 20V Cordless Stick Vacuum costs $20 less; the Black+Decker Powerseries Extreme runs longer per charge (55 vs 37 min).

SpecBlack+Decker Powerseries ExtremeBlack+Decker POWERSERIES Extreme MAX 20V Cordless Stick Vacuum
Price~$180~$160
TypeCordless StickCordless Stick
SuctionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Battery55 min37 min
Navigation——
FiltrationWashable filter—
CordlessYesYes
BaggedNoNo
Noise——
Dustbin650 ml—
Water tank——
Self-empty dockNoNo
Auto mop washingNoNo
Hot water washingNoNo
Obstacle avoidanceNoNo
Carpet detectionNoNo
Auto mop liftingNoNo
Multi-floor mappingNoNo
App controlNoNo
Dimensions6.4 x 12.4 x 27.8 in—
Weight——
Warranty2 years—

Pros & cons

Black+Decker Powerseries Extreme

  • ✓Typically the cheapest name-brand stick on the shelf
  • ✓Anti-tangle brush bar handles hair better than most sub-$150 sticks
  • ✓Battery charges three ways — on-unit, off-unit, or wall mount
  • ✓Self-standing design with no dock required
  • ✓650ml bowl and washable twist-clean filter keep running costs at zero
  • ✗55-minute rating is low speed with the brush off — max mode is a fraction of that
  • ✗Carpet deep-cleaning clearly trails Shark and Levoit rivals
  • ✗Weak suction in handheld mode
  • ✗Filter clogs and needs frequent rinsing
  • ✗More mixed owner ratings than category leaders, with some battery-longevity complaints

Black+Decker POWERSERIES Extreme MAX 20V Cordless Stick Vacuum

  • ✓Up to 37 minutes in stick mode and 42 as a handheld
  • ✓Washable BHFEBF1 filter keeps running costs down
  • ✓LED headlights pick out debris under furniture
  • ✓Self-standing, so it does not need a wall mount
  • ✗Filter is washable but not HEPA-rated
  • ✗Suction, bin size, weight, dimensions and warranty are not published
  • ✗37 minutes of runtime against the 55 of Black+Decker's POWERSERIES Extreme Pet, which costs only $25 more